Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bilbo character VS Frodo character

Bilbo character VS Frodo character

Bilbo VS Frodo...

Please excuse the long winded nature of this post - this is something that has only come to me over many years and I'm curious what others think.

As a child, I fell in love w/ reading the Hobbit and of course Bilbo was THE character from that book for me.

Shortly thereafter I graduated to the Lord of the Rings. I tore into it wanting to learn more about Bilbo and the Shire etc and was quite satisfied until...

It dawned on me in a couple chapters in (carefull here - I'm reaching way way way back in my faulty memory trying to recall initial impressions here!) that this may not revolve around Bilbo. What!? It's this new cat, Frodo. But I dont' think I fully gave up hope as to Bilbo's involvement until Frodo reached Rivendell. That's when it really hit home. That was an intriguing moment in the 1st reading for me.

Well now we have the cinematic releases and that's probably where this (I'm coming to it) began to crystalize somewhat (especially after listening to the directors commentary on the EE). (NO this is not a movie post - do not move it to that forum)

So I go back and skim through or read a few chapters here and there and sure enough...