🧙 The Tolkien Forum 🧝

Welcome to our forum! Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox! Plus you won't see ads ;)

Description or pictures of bilbo's sword

F

flaminghammster

Help! I am a desperate high school artist seeking the aid of knowledgable people! I am an avid fan of fantasty, but have not yet read and of Tolkien's works (but i do plan to in the near future). Anyways, I am in a class called studio art at my high school which gives me total artistic freedom in my projects. I am planning on doing a sword this year. I was talking to my art teacher about it, and he suggested that I do an interpretation on Bilbo's sword, Sting (again, i'm sorry, i don't know if i spelled it right, i'm not too familiar with the books). I have searched and searched and I cannot find any pictures or descriptions of what it looked like. If any of you could help me out (emailing me a description, sending me artwork based upon it, anything!), I would greatly, greatly appreciate it. So, thanks for the help!

Nik

orion

Reaction score
Quoting from The Hobbit page 40 &41 chapters 5&6
"...and Bilbo took a knife in a leather sheath. It would have made only a tiny pocket-knife for a troll, but it was as good as a short sword for the hobbit."

"These look like good blades," said the wizard, half drawing them and looking at them curiously. They were not made by any troll, nor by any smith among men in these parts and days; but when we can read the runes (Tolkien used actual runes) on them." The blade was made by elfs and glowed whenever danger approached (goblins, etc.)

The Lord of The Rings Prologue: Description of A Hobbit: