🧙 The Tolkien Forum 🧝

Welcome to our forum! Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox! Plus you won't see ads ;)

Help explaining a couple of verses to a non native english speaker

hocico

Reaction score
Hi everyone and thank you for your time. I have no knowledge about Tolkien books and lore, but I have the task to translate a couple of verses from The Lay of the Children of Húrin to my native language, and I don't understand what they mean.

"There the twain enfolded phantom twilight
and dim mazes dark, unholy"

Researching the context on the internet, I found some commentary. The verses are about Túrin and his companion Flinding (or Gwindor?), arriving to the land of Nan Dumgorthin ("the land of the dark idols", east of Artanor, where some evil tribes of renegade men sacrificed to hidden idols) fleeing after the death of Beleg Strongbow. Then the verses continue:

"There the twain enfolded phantom twilight
and dim mazes dark, unholy

in Nan Dungorthin where nameless gods
have shrouded shrines in shadows secret,
more old than Morgoth or the ancient lords
the golden gods of the guarded West.
But the ghostly dwellers of that grey valley
hindered nor hurt them, and they held their course
with creeping flesh and quaking limb.
Yet laughter at whiles with lingering echo,
as distand mockery of demon voices
there harsh and hollow in the hushed twilight
Flinding fancied, fell, unwholesome..."

What I dont understand is what "enfolded" actually means here, and the "dim mazes dark" part is also confusing to me. Did they dim the mazes dark? In context, it doesnt seem so. Did they dim the dark mazes, making them less dark? or dim is another adjective too?