Is Tolkien's portrayal of goblins/orcs antisemitic and racist?

Discussion in 'The Hall of Fire' started by Laegolas, Jun 14, 2019.

1. Laegolas

Laegolas Vocabjuggler

I came across a Twitter thread, and the general idea is the goblins and orcs in Tolkien's works are based off racism and antisemitism. I'm from Malaysia, English is my second language, and I can't relate to the points made in the thread because I have limited knowledge of dark-skinned orcs being a racist caricature of Africans. I have read the trilogy many times, and not once has it ever crossed my mind to associate orcs with Africans. I don't even see Africans as ape-like or anything that is mentioned in the thread. Are they really based off racism and antisemitism? Please help. Thank you in advance.

2. Belthil

Belthil Active Member

Oh my, nowadays everything is rascism, anti this, anti that. Sorry but society has gone berserk!
    Like you I never ever thought of these things while reading Tolkien, now that these 'theories' are outed I still do not see it that way.
    To me Tolkien 'just' wrote about love, live, good and evil, no less no more.
    I do not understand why these people like to stain everything that in their eyes is out of the ordinary...

I can think of quite a few other books and ideas that are full of hatred etc. ...

Romendacil I and Laegolas like this.
  3. Fëanor_7

Fëanor_7 Oathbound Noldo

I certainly doubt it is the sort of 'calculated racism' that the writer of that twitter thread seems to think it is.

The only argument for it being racist or offensive in my eyes is that it was a sort of subconscious thing, just based on people's views at the time, and even that doesn't seem likely (to me at least), particularly since Tolkien seemed so obsessed with creating 'his own' world, rather than one designed to reflect reality.

CirdanLinweilin, Belthil and Laegolas like this.
  4. Laegolas

Laegolas Vocabjuggler