🧙 The Tolkien Forum 🧝

Welcome to our forum! Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox! Plus you won't see ads ;)

Masks and Disguise

Squint-eyed Southerner

Skulking near Archet
Reaction score
Several recent threads have made me decide to bring up this subject, one I've been mulling over for several years, with no result, so this not an essay or argument, but a request for input.

Northrop Frye begins his essay on literary symbols with the observation that, whenever we read anything, our minds are going in two directions at once: outward, to attach the word ("symbol") to something in "real life", and inward, to see what context it belongs to.

With this in mind, let's look at Tolkien's use of the "symbols" in the thread title.

When, in the scene at Crickhollow, Merry offers to produce their "chief investigator", we have:

'Where is he? said Frodo, looking round, as if he expected a masked and sinister figure to come out of a cupboard.

And so do we -- at least I did, on first reading -- maybe more so than Frodo, as we know he's in the middle of a chapter called "A Conspiracy Unmasked", as he does not. Here is an example of our minds going "outward" toward the world.

But when we find Frodo asking Strider "Why the disguise?" at the Pony -- even though no obvious disguise is evident in the text; when Gandalf says to Saruman "you have unmasked yourself at last"; when the Fellowship is provided with cloaks that allow them to walk, not "invisible", but unnoticed; when Frodo and Sam are confronted by men "hooded and masked" in Ithilien, we may legitimately feel something more is going on.