🧙 The Tolkien Forum 🧝

Welcome to our forum! Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox! Plus you won't see ads ;)

Question about the Havens

Shadowfax

Wandering Artisianette
Reaction score
the Willamette Valley in Oregon, USA- the mudskipp
I am kinda new to Tolkiens World, so forgive me if I ask some really stupid questions. Ok, Here goes...
Is the place the ringbearers go another shore?
Does anybody everdie there? When good people die in ME do they go there? (is it heaven?)
Will Frodo's wounds heal there?
I would really like to know, because I still get choked up thinking about the Fellowship staying broken, and Merry and Pippin dead, and Frodo maybe dead by the time Sam gets there (wouldn't that stink?)
Can anyone answer my question?

Thorin

LOTR Purist to the end
Reaction score
The Grey Havens are the shores of what is left of Beleriand of the First Age. Cirdan (the oldest elf of ME) sets ships to sail for the elves when they tire of ME and want to go to Valinor.

Valinor is the Blessed Realm where the Valar, Maia and elves dwell. It is hidden from the inhabitants of ME, until the Valar reveal it to those sailing on these ships.

You could say that it is a kind of heaven. Frodo, Sam, Bilbo, (I'm assuming Gimli as well) will still die, but they will live in peace and healing until that time....

Thorin

LOTR Purist to the end
Reaction score
He did.

If you look in the LoTR appendix, he stayed as the mayor of Hobbiton for many years. When his wife finally died, Sam went the way of the elves and Frodo and Bilbo and sailed to Valinor..

*wipes tear from eye*

Turgon

Ghost-King of Gondolin
Reaction score