🧙 The Tolkien Forum 🧝

Welcome to our forum! Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox! Plus you won't see ads ;)

Where to begin?

Lord Vetinari

Reaction score
So tell me...
I'm quite new to Tolkien (I've spent time with Pratchett's books more, though), and now I wonder thatwhere should I begin?
Should I start from the Fellowship of the Ring or something else?
And more importantly, in which book is told how Sauron lost the Ring?
That whole war (that Sauron led) that was shown in the movie?

Tar-Palantir

Reaction score
I would start with the Hobbit. The tone of it is as if it was written for children - which it was, but don't get discouraged! Then move on to the Lord of the Rings (FOTR,TTT,ROTK). Next on our hit parade is the Silmarillion.

Reading the books in that order (the order in which they were published), IMO, makes it easier to get into Middle-Earth.

If you still thirst for more Tolkien after those books, move onto Unfinished Tales and the HoME series.

Hope this helps.

Talierin

Still here... sometimes
Reaction score
I agree with Tar-Palantir. You'll find Sauron's first defeat in the Silmarillion, but you really should read the Hobbit and LOTR before it. The Sil is written like the Bible.

Lantarion

no house
Reaction score
Well, I don't know about that. It is certainly the Bible for all Tolkienites, but it does not hold any painfully obvious moral teachings or such. It is much more precise and explanatory than the Bible, and less humble and full of sh*t: it doesn't swerve around the point, or hide the point in abstract and idle phrases, but explains everything as thorougly as is needed.
Heh, sorry. I have to wade through the Bible for my confirmation school, and learn SIX incantations. Damn foolish religious ritual ceremony, I think. But you gotta do what you gotta do. :D